Our Curriculum

Al Ain English Speaking School is a member of the Association of British Schools in the Middle East and the Incorporated Association of Preparatory Schools (UK).

Also, Al Ain English Speaking School has in recent years developed its professional reputation within the UK by achieving official status. It is currently recognized by the UK Government’s Department for Education (DfE 7036082). The basic curriculum is that of the National Curriculum of England. Compulsory education in England, Wales and Northern Ireland currently lasts eleven years, from the age of 5 to the age of 16 (Scotland has its own, independent education system). Compulsory education will conclude at the end of Year 13 as from 2013. The original model chosen was that of a British system school and that policy has continued to the present. Children can be admitted in the Nursery class, when they have achieved the age of 3 years by 30 August, and continue to take A-Level examinations at age 18.

The curriculum is that of the National Curriculum of England. Pupils take SATS style tests at the end of Key Stage One (Year 2), and Key Stage Two (Year 6).
External GCSE and IGCSE exams are taken in Years 10 and 11, and AS/A2-Levels in Year 12 and 13.
Children may also be prepared for Common Entrance Exams, which are the normal means of entry into independent Secondary Schools in UK and elsewhere. It is a priority of the school that the students are prepared for, and can transfer to, British, American and International Universities. In keeping with the philosophy of good modern practice, the curriculum of the school is broad, and appropriate to the multinational and multicultural nature of the pupils. Music, Physical Education and Creative Arts occupy secure places in the program as well as the more academic subjects. The school is committed to offering appropriate courses at all levels in Information and Communication Technology.
The school is licensed by the UAE Ministry of Education and, according to its directive; a program of Arabic Language, Arabic Social Studies and Islamic Studies (for Muslim children) is conducted.

The requirements of compulsory education are set out in the National Curriculum, which outlines learning that is designed to equip the student with the knowledge and skills to make good decisions in his/her personal life and to lead a life as a productive citizen. The core (compulsory) subjects of the National Curriculum are English, Mathematics, Science, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) and Physical Education. Achievement is measured at the end of Year 11 by public GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education) exams.

Qualifications (recognition of achievement at GCSE) are awarded according to performance in public examinations. School qualifications are awarded by examining bodies (such as Cambridge International Examinations, AQA and Edexcel), and not by the school. These qualifications are recognized throughout the world. Coursework and internal school examinations are used only to evaluate the student’s progress.

Students who have achieved Grade C or above in a minimum of 5 subjects (including English and Mathematics) may elect to progress to courses in years 12 and 13 at AAESS that will prepare them for higher education. It is desirable to have achieved grades B upwards as a good foundation for A level study.

Advanced level study (A level) in the 6th Form normally takes two years. In the first year, students will select four AS level subjects which are examined and certificated at the end of the first year. Students can then continue their studies in these subjects but narrowing the choice to three subjects, A2’s which are then examined again at the end of Year 13 and combine with the AS to form a complete A level. University entry in the UK requires a minimum of 2 A levels, normally 3 A levels or 2 A levels and 2 further subjects at AS level. Entry into university programs is competitive, and more demanding courses and more prestigious universities will require higher levels of passes at A level. Other interests are additionally desirable for many universities; for example, music, community work, and the Duke of Edinburgh, which many of our students go on to gain the coveted Gold Award.

Curriculum Stages

Curriculum StageSchool YearChildren's AgeBuilding
Foundation (Early Years)Nursery & Reception3-5Foundation
Key Stage OneYears 1-25-7Key Stage One
Key Stage TwoYear 3-67-11Key Stage Two
Key Stage ThreeYears 7-911-14Secondary Building
Key Stage FourYears 10-1114-16Secondary Building
Post 16 (A levels)Years 12-1316-18Secondary Building

Receive the Al Ain English Speaking School Newsletter

Subscribe for latest news, events and happenings

Our Partners

Working together to Achieve Excellence.

Cambridge Assessment International Education
The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award